Linnea Olsson – Ah!

Ah! Ah! Ah!

I could go on and on with that, and I don’t think I’d get bored.

Linnea Olsson and her debut album, funnily enough called Ah! is something else I don’t think I’d get bored with. Described as “fantasy pop” in the release I got about the album, Olsson is also a cellist – the main reason, I must admit, why I felt compelled to listen and (eventually) write about the album – once upon a time I played the cello too in the school orchestra. God knows how, considering I have small hands. Seriously, placed palm to palm a baby has a reasonable chance of having bigger hands than me!

The Ocean is the first track of the album, and it is a deeply atmospheric instrumental track which shows off the talents of Olsson on the cello. She goes up and down the neck of it with speed and grace that wouldn’t be missing from an orchestra.

Ah!, the title track is next up and as you’d expect, the cello is the instrument which takes centre-stage. What is a nice surprise is the voice of Olsson. Whether this is my own prejudice coming through, but you don’t ever expect classically trained instrumentalists to have a gorgeous, powerful and unique voice.

Ah! is cut in two by Its OK, an instrumental like the opener. True to the overall nautical feel of the album, when listening to Its OK you get the feel of being an albatross riding the thermals over the sea; never landing and never flapping your wings.

Dinosaur is another highlight of the album, vocally and in terms of the instrumentation and prowess on the cello.

Amongst others, Olsson has recently been touring as a member of Peter Gabriel’s band and is touring in March in order to bring her album to a wider audience:

Sat 2nd March The Workmans Club, Dublin
Tues 5th March Thekla, Bristol
Wed 6th March Slaughtered Lamb, London
Thurs 7th March Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Fri 8th March Sacred Trinity, Manchester
Sat 9th March Red Rooms, Nottingham
Sun 10th March Kings Tuts, Glasgow

If you can make any of these, and you want to broaden your musical horizons I’d sincerely recommend you go and watch her.

Leave a Reply

