Introduction – Mother Tongue

I have to make a declaration here – I know the lead singer of Mother Tongue.

Whilst we haven’t had a drink or played chess together in a pub for ages (yes Louis, we must meet up some point soon. And you can forget what I said about my bass) I do know that he is a man of great talent. This comes through in the songs which you can listen to below.

Some members (possibly all?) were together in a previous effort called Deptford Lights, and it is a pleasure to know that in some way, shape or form, that they continue.

Describing themselves as “progressive pop” and taking influence from Madonna (I kid you not), Talking Heads and Mansun (Six is criminally underrated) their early songs are, to put it simply, rather good. If you are free on the 16th November they are playing at the Roadhouse in Manchester. As I’m out on my first night as a 30 year old I shan’t be able to go. But you should.

Leave a Reply

